get in touch with your inner bike geek


I recently began incorporating my bike into the ol’ commute to work…trying to live greener, and healthier… and in an effort to keep track of my progress, and to encourage myself to keep on movin’, I put together a little chart/graph… take a peek for yourself: Powered by Tofu – bike CHART download.

sample chart of biking mileage

It keeps me informed of my past results and helps me keep my eye on the future progress I want to make.

 Whenever I get to feeling lazy or like I am wasting my time and effort, I can look at my graphs and see just how much work I’ve really done.

The downloadable link above is for a pretty straightforward spreadsheet… I like to color code, highlight, and graph things like crazy, but I tried to leave this one pretty basic and open for customization…

The bare minimum the user will have to do is enter in a start date, and a monthly mileage goal, as well as whatever the daily mileages are… the chart will do all the math for you… and fill in the graphs too

ride long enough and this is likely to happen to you too....

bikes and monkeys... what more do you need in a graph?!?!?

I didn’t do any research to see what is out there already as far as what other people have created… so maybe there are better ideas running around (probably!)… but I had fun making this little file, and it suits my needs just fine. Take a look at it and see if it helps you get started too…

I admit that it may be a little bit of overkill… my friend who is training for a triathalon said that she was told “just ride until you get tired, then go home”.

That sounds pretty reasonable to me!

the Zen of Fixies by Scott Warren/Analog Mutant

About analogmutant

art, music, food, movies, citizen journalism, activism, and whatever else i am into at the moment...
This entry was posted in Powered by Tofu; bicycling in Grand Rapids MI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to get in touch with your inner bike geek

  1. Pingback: Biking, Buddhism, and the Body-Mind Connection; PART 1 Beginner’s Mind and Eliminating Obstacles to Success | Massage Therapy by Jewly

  2. Pingback: Biking, Buddhism, and the Body-Mind Connection; PART 1 Beginner’s Mind and Eliminating Obstacles to Success « Stress-Less: By Any Means Necessary

  3. Pingback: a revolution on 2 wheels… « Scott Warren – Grand Rapids, MI

  4. Pingback: Biking, Buddhism, and the Body-Mind Connection; PART 1 Beginner’s Mind and Eliminating Obstacles to Success | Analog Mutant: Grand Rapids MI

  5. Pingback: life on 2 wheels « Scott Warren – Grand Rapids, MI

Leave a Reply

